the trenchcoat

Written by:

I didn’t connect with this book as much as others in the past just because of its writing style. Since the start, I was very confused and felt like I did not understand something, so it took more time for me to get hooked and stay engaged. As I read about the Romanian cold war and the government they had, I was able to put a lot more context and perhaps analyze behind the text with that in mind. I really enjoyed the beginning where conversations in the car opened the text, I’d say it really let us into their dynamics and the environment they were in “A deep-sea dive, one might think, with colonies of organisms bursting into view for a brief instant, sinister monstrosities outlined against an unpredictable fluid vastness” (pg. 194).

The way the text expands the war through language “I mean, that deadly monotony and the multilateral boredom of language, of submission, conventions, don’t forget those murderous conventions, incurable, real killers, unless we can find something else, a new experiment, an explosion, an ex, yes…”(225), characters “They, meaning them, meaning Him, the audience knows it” (pg. 196) and especially the “trenchcoat” is really interesting. I believe for it to be a symbolism for the way life was during the last years of Ceaucescu’s rule. For me, the trenchcoat was really a symbolism of the totalitarian regime/system they were under, the ignorance of some, the skepticism of others, and the question of what it really was to be a significant factor. It is there, and some question it whilst others don’t see a reason to ask any questions.

After watching the conversation video with Norman Manea himself so many of my questions were answered. At first learning about his role as the author of this book, being born in Bukovina, seems even more relevant given its divisive location. Secondly, learning directly from him what he was referring to by the trenchcoat as the shadow of the society from the security office “an emblem for the securitat” and was manipulating everything. Moreover, at first I perceived the trenchcoat as a more abstract/symbol from the securitat but it truly was a uniform they used to distinguish themselves from the rest of the people “one in four people was an informant” said Norman. As I heard Norman speak about the reality and environment at that time, driven by manipulation and manifested into uncertainty, it truly is something that becomes portrayed in the text of the book “what is true, what is not true” something I kept asking myself as I read the book. Everyone was suspicious. I’d say although a book about war times, definitely brings a lot of philosophy and lessons about life. It puts the reader in a puzzled position where they must reflect.

My question to you is: did you immediately understand the significance of the trenchcoat? If yes, how? and if no, what were your initial thoughts and how did you realize its true meaning?

4 responses to “the trenchcoat”

  1. Daniel Orizaga Doguim Avatar
    Daniel Orizaga Doguim

    Some parts of your blog lead me to wonder: who is the ideal reader of this novella? Perhaps in this case it has been very evident that we have had to look “outside” it to gain some understanding of what is happening “inside”. However, this did not happen with Proust or Bombal, to mention some of the authors who are temporarily away from us. Is this world of Manea, despite the shorter distance in years, more incomprehensible to us than that of Breton, for example?

    Like

  2. Rowan Avatar
    Rowan

    Hi Domenica, I enjoyed reading your post. It was especially interesting to learn the true significance of the trenchcoat. I didn’t realize it was actually a secret police uniform while I was reading the book, but I did have a feeling it was somehow related to them.

    Like

  3. Sally Zhou Avatar
    Sally Zhou

    Hi Domenica,

    Thank you for sharing your insights. Now that you mention the trenchcoat being a possible symbolization of a securitate, it makes more sense why they seemed paranoid and curious about what is the trench coat or where it is?

    Like

  4. Kendra Lewis Avatar
    Kendra Lewis

    Hey, I think the trenchcoat as a symbol of paranoia begins to make more sense after learning the historical context of the novella. That was my experience, at least!

    Like

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started